October Book Haul 2018

bookhaul

Hello everyone! Today I’m going to share the books I acquired in October. I haven’t really bought any books lately until this month. This month was huge for new releases and I bought the ones I was most interested i or had really anticipated. I’m super excited for all these books and I can’t wait to read them. I will post a picture of all the physical books and then I will add the kindle books I’ve bought too. So let’s get into them.

IMG_6697

 

Grim Lovelies by Megan Shepherd

I bought this because I heard Emma from Emmmabooks on youtube talked about it and she said it had been compared to The Mortal Instruments. I have to see if that is true and I’m really intrigued by the synopsis of this book.

A Very Large Expanse of Sea by Tahereh Mafi

I had to buy this book because I love Tahereh Mafi and her writing. I have started reading this and I’m so far enjoying it a lot. I’ve heard so many amazing things about this book. Also I always read Tahereh’s books so fast.

The Lady’s Guide to Petticoats and Piracy by Mackenzi Lee 

This is the sequel/companion novel to The Gentlemans Guide to Vice and Virtue, which I loved so much. This is all about Monty’s little sister Felicity and I’m so excited since she is asexual and I think she is also aromantic? I’m just super excited and I will hopefully read this next month.

What If It’s Us by Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera

I have read two of Becky’s books and one Adam Silvera book and I loved both their writing. I’m super excited to see how this works out!

Muse of Nightmares by Lani Taylor 

This is the sequel to Strange the Dreamer. I still have yet to read that, but I have heard so many good things about both these books and I’m super excited to just marathon them and see if the hype is real.

Shadow of the Fox by Julie Kagawa 

This book is inspired by Japanese mythology. It’s also an ownvoices YA fantasy. I’m a sucker for anything that says it’s inspired by mythology. I don’t know when I will get to this tho as I’m not in the mood for fantasy right now.

On a Sunbeam by Tillie Walden

This is a graphic novel and honestly I don’t really know what it’s about. I was just drawn to the cover and the art inside looked so beautiful I just had to have it.

kindle books october.jpg

Giant Days vol. 8 by John Allison 

This is a comic series I love so much. I started it this year and it can always put a smile on my face. I have already read this, but I will talk more about that in my wrap up.

➢ Fierce Fairytales: Poems and Stories to Stir Your Soul by Nikita Gill

This is a poetry collections all inspired by fairytales, hut with a 2018 twist. I love Nikita Gill’s writing so much.

Euphoria by F.S. Yousaf

This is another poetry collection. This is really short and I read it so fast. This is all about growth, mental illness, growing up as a muslim in america and self-reflections.

Sincerely by F.S. Yousaf 

Another poetry collection. This is all about love. It is really short and sweet.

The Land I Lost by Cassandra Clare and Sarah Rees Brennan

This is the 7th novella in the Ghost from the shadow market novellas. I will talk more about this in my wrap up.

____________________________________________________________________________________________

That is all the books I acquired in the month of October. I’m super happy about all of them. I’m also waiting for two more books but I don’t think I will get them until the start of next month.

Until next time

johanne

4 thoughts on “October Book Haul 2018

  1. I picked up The Lady’s Guide, What If It’s Us and Muse of Nightmares this month too! I’m so excited to read all of them. I loved Fierce Fairtytales so much — I hope you enjoy it too ☺️ I need to catch up on Giant Days, I can’t remember what volume I’m up to 😂 but it’s such a good series!!

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.